From 2001 to the present day O Marisquiño has been the most important urban sports event in southern Europe, a great festival that brings together more than ten sports competitions as well as different cultural events over the three days. O Marisquiño organises three world cups: World Cup Skateboarding
World Cup Skateboarding Miniramp and
Dirt FMB World Tour, all of them counting towards the world rankings and featuring the best national and international riders.
This year we're also proud to include the FIBA 3x3 Basket contest in our program, that will be on the Japan 2020 olympics.
Vigo is in Pontevedra, on the south coast of Galicia. O Marisquiño takes place on the waterfront in Vigo, across the whole of the port and very close to the historic centre of the city, This location has become an icon for the festival. The main competitions of the festival take place in this 150,000 square metre area by the sea, which includes Paseo de las Avenidas, Trasatl á nticos Pier, N á utico and Espig ó n. The various sports and cultural activities take place across this exceptional location between the Vigo estuary and the city in a unique and spectacular setting.
How to get there
In August there are seven companies that fly from Vigo airport to a range of cities: Iberia, Air Europa, Vueling, Air Nostrum, Ryanair, Volotea and TAP.
direct flights from Vigo to Madrid, Barcelona
, Alicante, Bilbao, Mallorca, Valencia, Menorca, Ibiza, M
laga, Sevilla, Gran Canaria, Tenerife Norte and Tenerife Sur. There are also international
direct flights to London, Par
, Rome, Bologna and Lisbon
. In addition Vigo has good transport links to
Santiago de Compostela (85 Km) and Oporto (120 Km) which are both cities with an international airport
and flights to a range of destinations.
To reach the festival from Peinador Airport (Vigo), take Bus C 9A (Vitrasa from 6.20am to 10.30pm, every 30 minutes, every hour on Sundays). The nearest stops are Policarpo Sanz or Puerta del Sol
Book your accommodation in advance and enjoy the wide range of options available in the Rias Baixas.
The Cies Islands, were declared part of the Atlantic Islands of Galicia’s Marine-Terrestrial National Park in 2002. They had already been declared a Natural Park in 1980 but without a doubt, despite its reputation in Galicia, the greatest recognition has come in the 21st century. In February 2007, the British newspaper The Guardian was seduced by the Cies Islands crystalline and calm waters, the fine golden sand and the suggestive crescent shape of a beach in Rhodes, and choose it as "the best beach in the world".
The Cies islands were protected by pirates in the past but nowadays they are uninhabited.
They are only open to the public in summer, and can only be accessed by boat, thus preserving this natural paradise.
From the lighthouse you can enjoy the incredible experience of hearing the cries of the largest colony of gulls in Europe on the cliffs below.
The rich fauna and flora of this archipelago (there are more than 200 types of algae), and the spectacular cliffs and dune landscapes, constitute a natural heritage of great value, although we must all take on the responsibility for their conservation.
The Citania of Santa Trega is one of the best preserved citadels in Galicia. It houses in its interior a faithful reconstruction of a military house dating back to the 1st and 2nd centuries BC which provides a privileged view of the rivers and valleys that surround it.
The circular houses with patios are grouped in neighbourhoods of eight houses with paved streets and a canal system. It is a Galician-Roman town, 200 meters high, in which remains of the Bronze Age and Galician-Roman culture were found.
This town, the museum and its collection were declared Historical-Artistic National Monuments in 1931 and 1962, respectively.
It has also been declared to be of Cultural Interest and is presented in The Archaeological Museum of Santa Trega, which was designed by Antonio Palacios. It highlights architecture in tune with its geographic surroundings and is supported by signs of the Galician architecture of the past and in the popular houses.
Baiona was the first village to receive news about the discovery of America, after the arrival at its port of the Carabela Pinta. This event is celebrated in March with the Feast of the Arribada.
The Historical-Artistic Complex of Baiona, is located in the centre of the town and forms a nearly closed circle. It has three entrances: by the square of Santa Liberata, by the square of the Father Fernando and from the cruceiro de la Trinidad.
The cobbled streets of this complex includes numerous stately mansions. The 10th century Castle of Monte Real is an impressive building located in a strategic area on a hill and located in a beautiful landscape.
The medieval period and the time from the renaissance up to the XVIII century can be observed in its structure. At the moment it is home to the Parador Nacional de Turismo Conde de Gondomar.
The exact date of the construction of Castle of Soutomaior is unknown but its foundation must be linked to Don Méndez Sorrede, who lived in the days of Alfonso VII (1126-1157) and Don Fernando de León (1157-1188), and who was the first to use the Sotomayor surname.
The castle of Soutomaior is one of the best preserved, and perhaps best known, castles of all Galicia.
In 1982, the castle passed to the Provincial Council of Pontevedra, which commissioned a team of experts to restore the whole structure.
In its gardens, we can find a very singular botanical combination of hydrangeas, camellias and chestnuts that have survived for over 800 years.
Pontevedra is a stately town in which we can discover diverse unique buildings that represent its history.
The historical complex of the city is contained within a walled enclosure. The old town should be explored on foot, noting the street names, unique spaces, ancestry and traditional houses.
The many monuments include the ruins of the Convent of Santo Domingo (XIII C), that form part of the Provincial Museum and whose structure contains some archaeological pieces; the convent churches of San Francisco (XIII-XIV C), Santa Clara and San Bartolomé; the Church of the Pilgrim with a chapel dating from 1778, and a baroque jewel, related to the Portuguese road to Santiago de Compostela or the Convent of Santa Clara and San Francisco in the middle of the 14th century; town squares like la Herrería, de la Leña, del, Teucro, de la Verdura. Mugartegui or Pedreira, Cinco Calles; and the basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, dating from the 14th century, with the imposing Plateresque door which was built by the old Guild of Mariners in the 15th century
More information: turismoriasbaixas.com